Friday, February 25, 2011

alpha-fun (or rainy day laziness)

I confess...I've never done this type of blog post, but it is rainy and icky and the type of weather that makes me procrastinate.  I did a lot of job stuff yesterday and intend to eventually get myself to the gym so I'll say it's okay.

A. Age: 33

B. Bed size:   Depends on where I, that sounds really bad :P   Queen or two twins pushed together to feel less like an 8 year old

C. Chore you hate: Dusting (partly because of allergies) and floor-cleaning (broad to cover both vacuuming and scrubbing)

D. Dogs: I'd love one (I debated writing "I'd give my right arm"....but I might give my left if I could have a black Lab) but I'd have to give up breathing.  Yes, I'm bad enough that even hypoallergenic ones cause trouble.
E. Essential start to your day:  Caffeine.  Usually a Diet Dr. Pepper, preferably Cherry.  I think it is more common to do the AM soda route in the South but I really can't blame it on geography.

F. Favorite color:  Blue

G. Gold or silver: Silver.  I don't wear much jewelry though.  I'd try white gold but the allergies strike again since it contains nickel and really irritates my teens, I always had a sore on my belly-button and since figured out that was from the button on jeans (wearing lower cuts help now since the button doesn't dig in the same way...though I have read you can use clear nail polish too).

H. Height: 5'4

I. Instruments you play: None. I took piano briefly.  The first teacher retired within a few months, the second was a male anorexic who finally went for treatment.  I think both were within a year.  I'd never loved it so I gave up,

J. Job title: Recovering Lawyer.

K. Kids:  None (I first missed the "o" and hit the "i"...yeah, that would NEVER happen).  Maybe some day.  Endo can make that hard for some woman but the docs have been in there three times and say I won't have trouble from the endo in that sense.  I would need to figure out how to live off the pill...I take only active pills and I still get pain as it is, but I am a LOT worse without the help.
L. Live:  PA

M. Mom’s name: Ellen

N. Nicknames:  No real ones. 

O. Overnight hospital stays: None.  Though, I have had five surgeries and a few ER runs (fall as a toddler, some nasty viruses that hit my body harder, a paralyzing headache beyond a migraine, and a gym-related injury).  Life in my body is fun (insert sarcastic smiley here).

P. Pet peeve: a clicking pen or chewing gum in my ear on the trai.

Q. Quote from a movie: I had to look one up.  From Good Will Hunting: "Look - you're my best friend, so don't take this the wrong way. In twenty years, if you're still livin' here, comin' over to my house to watch the Patriots games, still workin' construction, I'll fuckin' kill you. That's not a threat; now, that's a fact. I'll fuckin' kill you."  Chosen because it embodies true friendship...wanting the best for someone, even if it means giving something up.

R. Right or left handed: Right.  Very much so.  I tried to switch sides when shoveling after each storm but couldn't do it.

S. Siblings:  No full, lots of semis.  My step-dad has three kids from his first marriage.  My dad has two kids from his second wife (those are halfs, the rest steps) and he has two step-daughters that are the children of his third wife.  All five steps are married with kids (one is a second marriage with more steps...counting all kinds, 13 kids).  I'll draw you a picture if you need to meet some and can't figure out who they are.  There are other blended families a kid, it took years to figure out how my step-mother's half-brother and my step-siblings step-siblings (step-dad's ex-wife married a man w/ three kids) were tied in. 

T. Time you wake up: When I was working in Boston, it was 4:45 most weekdays to workout.  Lately, I wake up before but usually actually move around 9.

U. Underwear: Cover your eyes, Mom and Dad.  Thongs....99% of the time.  I honestly find them more comfortable.  Preferrably low-rise since my shape looks better with pants that hit a bit below the navel so I try to avoid the peakaboo underwear.
V. Vegetables you dislike:  I was going to say olives but realized they are a fruit so I'll say banana peppers (though that may be about the processing not the natural state).  Both are dangerous since you can pick 'em out but they both leave their taste behind.  In general, I love veggies.  I watch commercials with foods that try to conceal veggies under fruit.  I need the reverse.  Broccoli and Spinach are staples.

W. What makes you run late:   Not much.  I get antsy if I'm not early.   My meeting yesterday was 20min away.  I was nervous about finding it.  I had to convince myself that leaving one hour was much more sensible than leaving two (I'd have found a place to sit...I'll show up 20min early but not much more and I always offer to wait).

X. X-Rays you’ve had: Hmmm...teeth, knees, feet, hips.....again, my body is a joy.

Y. Yummy food you make:  I don't cook much but like my soft and chewy chocolate chip cookies (the secret is vanilla pudding) and the mussels in spicy red sauce (good for sinus-clearing).

Z. Zoo- favorite animal:  I hate zoos.  They depress me.  And they smell.  I feel way too stereotypical, but I do love dolphins.  For a zoo animal, chimpanzees or polar bears.

1 comment:

lee said...

If I'm wearing jeans, I have to wear a thong. If I'm wearing a skirt or sweatpants, I have to wear bikini type underwear.

I think I just overshared.